Japanese Mesh Weaving

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I learned the art of Mesh weaving and was hooked. In 2005, I had a trip to Singapore, to watch Jamie and Meg run a marathon. They are familiar with the city, and took me to  a fantastic Japanese bookshop, where I  discovered books with Mesh weaving. I came away with four books on bag making. Two were completely on using mesh weaving. With no Japanese I have to follow the pictures and diagrams, which are pretty good. These books are a great resource.

l have been able to make samples and write my own directions.

The next step was to use my Mesh weaving to enhance bags. A very ordinary pattern looks great with the added Mesh weaving. I love doing this and have made bags for family and friends.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

